Hi, using the new version of Speed Startup I detected a new (?) feature. If you put some prozesses to manual start you get the possibility to start them by c:\programs\speed startup\run. Now if you get a new startup item you are warned by Speed Startup and the program is run again. But after this run the folder run is empty and you get a second folder named run2 containing all programs for manual starting. If this happens a second time all manually to be started programs are listed under the folder run and the folder run2 has disappeared. Why is that? This is somewhat irritating. rawana75
Posted: December 15th, 2008, 11:47am
Each time Speed Startup is run, if the Run folder exists, a Run2 folder is created, the Run folder is deleted, and the Run2 folder is renamed to Run. This has to be done because Vista does not allow the Run folder to be deleted and then recreated (this is how Speed Startup did it before and Vista did not allow it, so now Speed Startup temporarily makes the Run2 folder to work around Vista).
But this is not how it functions with Windows XP Home. The run folder is not deleted and so the run2 folder cannot be renamed. The planned procedure is only functioning when run2 is existing. In this case the folder run is the new folder and run2 is deleted. rawana75