Power up problem September 24th, 2018, 3:45am
Home Calendar Search Register Login
Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.

Computer Q&A Board    Your Input    Questions  ›  Power up problem

 Pages: 1
Recommend Print
  Author    Power up problem
tshoop
Posted: September 25th, 2011, 7:40am Report to Moderator
Guest User



When trying to power up from cold start all I get is a fast flashing light on the front.  Pressing the front power button gets no results.  Tested the power supply and all voltages are there except -5, however I see no -5 mentioned on the power supply label.  Monitor of course has no screen display.  Problem occured after vacuuming the inside.  All connectors are seated good and nothing looks abnormal inside.  Fans are not running.
Logged
e-mail
A New Bible Built with Modern Technology

New Testament - Breakthrough Version

www.breakthroughversion.com

The Breakthrough Version achieves a much higher level of accuracy. It is:

  • more literal
  • more precise
  • more contemporary
  • more correct
  • more consistent

This Bible even translates hundreds of forgotten Greek words that no other Bible does.

It is an essential tool for Bible teachers and students, yet it is easy to read, even for newbies.

crashman
Posted: November 8th, 2011, 6:48am Report to Moderator
Baby Member


Posts: 25
vacuum cleaners produce static and you have likely blown something on the board. The static voltage inside you machine will have been different to that produced by the cleaner.
But:
Try this last hope.
Pull out the main power supply lead from the wall socket and leave out for a full 24 hours.
Logged Offline
e-mail Reply: 1 - 3
Ray
Posted: November 8th, 2011, 7:38am Report to Moderator
Administrator Group



Posts: 2208
Reputation: 60.00%
   I would suggest holding in the power button for at least five seconds to make sure that the computer is off and not stuck in hibernate or sleep.
   Then I would suggest replacing the power supply and see if that works.
Logged Offline
e-mail Reply: 2 - 3
tshoop
Posted: November 13th, 2011, 4:53pm Report to Moderator
Guest User



The power supply was replaced and the problem is solved.  Thanks Ray.
I was testing the PS with the Thermaltake Dr. Power model which does not have atest for the 5Vsb.
I tested the bad power supply with the newer Thermaltake Dr. Power II and the 5Bsb showed bad.

Is there a way to close a problem on this Q&A board?

Problem closed.
Logged
e-mail Reply: 3 - 3
 Pages: 1
Recommend Print

Locked Board Board Index    Questions  [ previous | next ] Switch to:

Thread Rating
There is currently no rating for this thread
 
Forum Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post polls
You may not post attachments
HTML is off
Blah Code is on
Smilies are on

Powered by E-Blah Platinum 9.6 © 2001-2006