ado files in Win7 May 25th, 2018, 10:41am
Home Calendar Search Register Login
Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.

Computer Q&A Board    Your Input    Questions  ›  ado files in Win7

 Pages: 1
Recommend Print
  Author    ado files in Win7
SPHOTOMAN
Posted: July 28th, 2010, 12:47pm Report to Moderator
Baby Member


Posts: 6
i'm told that my win7 Machine is missing its ADO files.... I'm wondering if A1 or Reg Vac could have deleted them?  They are ~ common / shared files ~ that are needed to run a variety of apps.  

thx
scott
Logged Offline
e-mail
A New Bible Built with Modern Technology

New Testament - Breakthrough Version

www.breakthroughversion.com

The Breakthrough Version achieves a much higher level of accuracy. It is:

  • more literal
  • more precise
  • more contemporary
  • more correct
  • more consistent

This Bible even translates hundreds of forgotten Greek words that no other Bible does.

It is an essential tool for Bible teachers and students, yet it is easy to read, even for newbies.

Ray
Posted: July 29th, 2010, 8:39am Report to Moderator
Administrator Group



Posts: 2208
Reputation: 60.00%
   RegVac does not delete files.  It deletes entries in the registry, so RegVac did not delete them.
   You can look in the Cleaner Properties to see what kind of files A1Click deletes.  Help tells which ones of those are removed by Clean PC and Remove Tracks.
   I do not see any of them that would remove an ADO file unless it is in a Temp folder.
   So I doubt that RegVac or A1Click removed them.
Logged Offline
e-mail Reply: 1 - 6
SPHOTOMAN
Posted: July 29th, 2010, 8:52am Report to Moderator
Baby Member


Posts: 6
the tech / software engineer indcated that they had become disconnected... or un-linked.  so I think they might have still been there (I'm not at all familiar with what exactly we are talking about.) he was talking about possible Win7 Reinstall to fix the files... trying to avoid this.   Could RegVac have delisted them in the registery?
Logged Offline
e-mail Reply: 2 - 6
Ray
Posted: July 30th, 2010, 8:25am Report to Moderator
Administrator Group



Posts: 2208
Reputation: 60.00%
   RegVac could have un-linked them.  A tech/software engineer should know how to relink them without reinstalling Win7.  Where is the tech/software engineer from?
Logged Offline
e-mail Reply: 3 - 6
SPHOTOMAN
Posted: July 30th, 2010, 2:28pm Report to Moderator
Baby Member


Posts: 6
he thought it was in a shared library of win7 os files.  a file Studio Plus software depends on and the assumption was that it worked...
Logged Offline
e-mail Reply: 4 - 6
SPHOTOMAN
Posted: July 30th, 2010, 2:45pm Report to Moderator
Baby Member


Posts: 6
I did as win7 system repair with the OS install Disc.  ran all the updates and reinstalled the software that had ceased to work. (StudioPlus)  It worked like a charm.

After I got it working it did the following test for RegVac & Studio Plus.

- created a new restore point. (at a known point were it was definately working).

-  I then ran RegVac.

-  StudioPlus then ceased to work.   same error as before

- I ran the "Undo"  In RegVac.  StudioPlus still had error even after restart.

- Next I ran a system restore to the point prior use of RegVac.

- Studio Plus Software (studioplussoftware.com) returned to its fully functional state!

-- Note RegVac on WinXP Pro SP3 works as expected and has no adverse effects on Studio Plus.

--- Any thoughts,  I like RegVac, but at the moment it seems like it breaking things.
Logged Offline
e-mail Reply: 5 - 6
Ray
Posted: August 2nd, 2010, 9:56am Report to Moderator
Administrator Group



Posts: 2208
Reputation: 60.00%
   Is your Windows 7 64bit?  64bit seems to have a lot of problems and some of them have shown up in problems like this.
   RegVac is probably only removing one entry.  All you have to do is find out which entry that is and then have RegVac skip that entry.  When you find that entry, please let me know what the entry is and I will disable it permanently in RegVac.
Logged Offline
e-mail Reply: 6 - 6
 Pages: 1
Recommend Print

Locked Board Board Index    Questions  [ previous | next ] Switch to:

Thread Rating
There is currently no rating for this thread
 
Forum Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post polls
You may not post attachments
HTML is off
Blah Code is on
Smilies are on

Powered by E-Blah Platinum 9.6 © 2001-2006