Deleting keys to DLLs safely? June 27th, 2017, 12:14pm
Home Calendar Search Register Login
Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.

Computer Q&A Board    Your Input    Questions  ›  Deleting keys to DLLs safely?

Pages: 1
Recommend Print
  Author    Deleting keys to DLLs safely?
jim
Posted: April 29th, 2010, 9:27pm Report to Moderator
Guest User

I checked old posts about DLLs before asking this question.
Using RegVac>Software Cleaner>Suspect Keys, What should you check before deleting a  key pointing to a DLL used by an uninstalled program?
Example: \\EventMessageFile = C:\Program Files\Symantec\LiveUpdate\ResLuComServer_3_1.DLL

I'm new to RegVac and registry work in general. I'm a bit timid about messing with dlls as I've seen others having huge problems after deleting or disconnecting dlls. I know RegVac doesn't delete dlls, only registry keys to or from them. I would feel better and it would be instructional to have a way or a tool that tracks all registry connections to-and-from a particular dll. (Hope I'm making sense so far.) I know there are ways to look up dependencies between programs and dlls, but I find the process cumbersome and piecemeal and without indication of any secondary registry linkages that could exist in a chain (if there are such things).

I guess my central question is whether someone can recommend a good dll exploration tool that would work well in tandem with RegVac.  I've used tools like Process Explorer, What's Running, DllArchive, and Dependency Walker ... none of which provide the big picture I'm looking for that relates programs to dlls, and they don't begin to show registry linkages. The closest thing that comes to mapping the registry part is Regedit which is a bit overwhelming, although I look at it all the time in conjunction with RegVac. By the way, love RegVac for its superior functionality and its instruction value.

If you don't mind, I would like to get some of your insights.
It is HERE
A Revolutionary New Bible Version