Dead computer December 14th, 2019, 5:20pm
Home Calendar Search Register Login
Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.

Computer Q&A Board    Your Input    Questions  ›  Dead computer

 Pages: 1
Recommend Print
  Author    Dead computer
201
Posted: December 14th, 2009, 8:15am Report to Moderator
Guest User



I have a HP 7935 with XP. This is my "back-up" machine. I haven't used it for several months. When I recently tried to turn it on, it wouldn't work. When I unplugged and replugged the power cord, a green light flashed and went out. Does the computer have a reset or a fuse?
Logged
e-mail
112
Posted: December 14th, 2009, 1:25pm Report to Moderator
Guest User



   You say that it will not work.  What do you mean by that?  What happens when you turn it on?
Logged
e-mail Reply: 1 - 8
201
Posted: December 19th, 2009, 8:01am Report to Moderator
Guest User



It will not turn on.
Logged
e-mail Reply: 2 - 8
112
Posted: December 19th, 2009, 5:13pm Report to Moderator
Guest User



   Are you saying that when you press on the power button nothing happens?  No lights, no noise, nothing?  If so, my guess would be that it is a bad power supply.
Logged
e-mail Reply: 3 - 8
201
Posted: December 21st, 2009, 8:13am Report to Moderator
Guest User



You are correct.  Nothing happens.
Logged
e-mail Reply: 4 - 8
201
Posted: December 21st, 2009, 8:17am Report to Moderator
Guest User



is there a battery that might be bad?
Logged
e-mail Reply: 5 - 8
112
Posted: December 21st, 2009, 5:53pm Report to Moderator
Guest User



There is a battery that allows your computer to remember what time it is among other things.  If the battery is bad, the time will be off but your computer will still start.
Logged
e-mail Reply: 6 - 8
201
Posted: February 8th, 2010, 6:29am Report to Moderator
Guest User



Ray:
Thanks for the help. It was a bad power supply. I bought  new psu and tried to install but it was too deep for my unit. I could have gotten it in by cutting away some of the sheet metal which supports the cd and floppy drives but was reluctant to do that. The common psu available is 5.5" deep and my unit was 4". A friend  that spends too much time picking stuff up in others rubbish had a box full of psus. One of them had the right dimensions. I installed that psu and everything worked fine. The price was right, also.
Logged
e-mail Reply: 7 - 8
112
Posted: February 8th, 2010, 9:59am Report to Moderator
Guest User



Good job.
Logged
e-mail Reply: 8 - 8
 Pages: 1
Recommend Print

Locked Board Board Index    Questions  [ previous | next ] Switch to:

Thread Rating
There is currently no rating for this thread
 
Forum Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post polls
You may not post attachments
HTML is off
Blah Code is on
Smilies are on

Powered by E-Blah Platinum 9.6 © 2001-2006