Repair to network October 18th, 2018, 6:56pm
Home Calendar Search Register Login
Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.

Computer Q&A Board    Your Input    Questions  ›  Repair to network

 Pages: 1
Recommend Print
  Author    Repair to network
frederickgt
Posted: January 17th, 2009, 7:14am Report to Moderator
Baby Member


Posts: 6
I had two computers one running XP the latest running Vista,the older machine running XP ceased working ,I called in a professional he said that because of its age,the drive(C) on the older computer was not being readI removed the older computer and network equipment,now because of problems with Vista and compatibility,I am think of restoring the network.Would a new Hard drive be all that I need? I must confess that as an 81yr old pensioner,a lot of this is new to me I need some help please. frederickgt TY
Logged Offline
e-mail
A New Bible Built with Modern Technology

New Testament - Breakthrough Version

www.breakthroughversion.com

The Breakthrough Version achieves a much higher level of accuracy. It is:

  • more literal
  • more precise
  • more contemporary
  • more correct
  • more consistent

This Bible even translates hundreds of forgotten Greek words that no other Bible does.

It is an essential tool for Bible teachers and students, yet it is easy to read, even for newbies.

Ray
Posted: January 17th, 2009, 10:40am Report to Moderator
Administrator Group



Posts: 2208
Reputation: 60.00%
   It is not clear to me what you want to restore.  You say the network.  Is that the XP computer?
   If you are talking about fixing the XP computer, it looks like you will have to buy a new harddrive and Windows XP, then install them.
Logged Offline
e-mail Reply: 1 - 6
frederickgt
Posted: January 18th, 2009, 2:19pm Report to Moderator
Baby Member


Posts: 6
I want to set up my network again,I have a XP installation disk,original,would this be ok for a virgin HD Drive?
Logged Offline
e-mail Reply: 2 - 6
Ray
Posted: January 19th, 2009, 6:50pm Report to Moderator
Administrator Group



Posts: 2208
Reputation: 60.00%
Yes.
Logged Offline
e-mail Reply: 3 - 6
quinland
Posted: January 24th, 2009, 2:29pm Report to Moderator
Minimum Member


Posts: 73
A program I have found useful is Network Magic, from PureNetworks, which has been bought by Cisco. You can have a free trial to use it for setting up your network. I have a paid copy on each of five computers in my house, and feel it is worth it.
Logged Offline
e-mail Reply: 4 - 6
Ray
Posted: January 26th, 2009, 11:09am Report to Moderator
Administrator Group



Posts: 2208
Reputation: 60.00%
I was not that impressed with Network Magic.
Logged Offline
e-mail Reply: 5 - 6
quinland
Posted: January 27th, 2009, 1:05am Report to Moderator
Minimum Member


Posts: 73
I have found it useful for the less experienced users in my family. It is easier for them to recover when the network is interrupted, and lets me know who is on the network.
Logged Offline
e-mail Reply: 6 - 6
 Pages: 1
Recommend Print

Locked Board Board Index    Questions  [ previous | next ] Switch to:

Thread Rating
There is currently no rating for this thread
 
Forum Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post polls
You may not post attachments
HTML is off
Blah Code is on
Smilies are on

Powered by E-Blah Platinum 9.6 © 2001-2006