Can I move a program from one computer to another? October 31st, 2014, 6:05am
Home Calendar Search Register Login
Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.

Computer Q&A Board    Answers    Windows  ›  Can I move a program from one computer to another?

Pages: 1
Recommend Print
  Author    Can I move a program from one computer to another?
J_Parton
Posted: January 31st, 2006, 10:57pm Report to Moderator
Guest User

Is there a way to add programs from a old computer hard drive toa new one? I'm running Windows 98 on old computer and 98SE upgrade on the new one. I'm rather new at this and didn't realize I shold keep the product key codes. I also have programs I downloaded. I purchase a KLM switch to move back and forth but when I go to old machine it will not reconize the key board or trackball. I'm disabled on life support  unable to use my right hand (I'm right handed) so must use a track ball.. Thanks for any help you can give me.  Jim
A Revolutionary New Bible Version
is Coming

More Accurate than the KJV

Easier to Understand
than the Living Bible

The Bible for a New Generation
Go to - www.bible4ang.com - for more information.
Free Weekly Newsletter
Learn Tips about your Computer
from a Trusted, Knowledgeable Source

Subscribe to Ray's Computer Tips by entering your email address below and clicking on the button. We have a No Spam policy

This Forum brought to you by

Great Software
Forever Free Updates
Ray
Posted: February 1st, 2006, 11:02am Report to Moderator
Administrator Group

No, there really is not a way to do that.  If you knew which files were associated with that program and copied those files to the other computer, you still would have to move the registry entries associated with that program (since most programs rely on entries in the registry) and all of the shortcuts linking to it.
   If you have the installation file for that program, you could install the program on the other computer.