My run prompt is gone November 18th, 2017, 9:45pm
Home Calendar Search Register Login
Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.

Computer Q&A Board    Your Input    Questions  ›  My run prompt is gone

 Pages: 1
Recommend Print
  Author    My run prompt is gone
kittykrystal
Posted: May 17th, 2013, 9:05am Report to Moderator
Baby Member


Posts: 3
Hello, recently I have had to reload XP.   Now the little "Run" after you press START is no longer there.  I was able to call  up the command prompt, but it show: "c:\Documents and Settings\Kitty".  It will not give me just the c: prompt so that I can put in msconfig.  Can you help me please?   Kitty  
Logged Offline
e-mail
It is HERE
A Revolutionary New Bible Version

Gain a Better Understanding of the Bible

No Bible Training Needed
Just Read and Find out God's Message to You


New Testament - Breakthrough Version
Go to - www.breakthroughversion.com - for more information.
Free Weekly Newsletter
Learn Tips about your Computer
from a Trusted, Knowledgeable Source


Subscribe to Ray's Computer Tips by entering your email address below and clicking on the button. We have a No Spam policy


This Forum brought to you by



Great Software
Forever Free Updates
Ray
Posted: May 18th, 2013, 4:07am Report to Moderator
Administrator Group



Posts: 2208
Reputation: 60.00%
   I don't know why Run is not there.
   You can change directories and go back to C:\ by typing "cd\" (without the quotation marks) and enter.
   Or you can go back one directory at a time by typing "cd.." and enter.
Logged Offline
e-mail Reply: 1 - 3
kittykrystal
Posted: May 18th, 2013, 4:29am Report to Moderator
Baby Member


Posts: 3
OK, I did that and what I get back is c:\>  Then I typed in msconfig and it does not accept that.  Now what?  Thanks  Kitty
Logged Offline
e-mail Reply: 2 - 3
Ray
Posted: May 25th, 2013, 9:29am Report to Moderator
Administrator Group



Posts: 2208
Reputation: 60.00%
   You have to find out where msconfig is and change to that directory.  You can use the cd command (cd is short for change directory) to get there but that can be a hassle.
   Try right clicking on the Start button and selecting Explore from the popup menu to open Windows Explorer.  Then you can look for msconfig and run it from there.
   To get Run back, try running Taskbar and Start Menu in Control Panel.  Click on the Start Menu tab and click on the Customize button of Start menu.  On the Advanced tab there is a Run command checkbox in the Start menu items box.  Make sure that is checked.
Logged Offline
e-mail Reply: 3 - 3
 Pages: 1
Recommend Print

Locked Board Board Index    Questions  [ previous | next ] Switch to:

Thread Rating
There is currently no rating for this thread
 
Forum Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post polls
You may not post attachments
HTML is off
Blah Code is on
Smilies are on

Powered by E-Blah Platinum 9.6 © 2001-2006