transfer old hard drive to new computer October 19th, 2018, 9:09am
Home Calendar Search Register Login
Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.

Computer Q&A Board    Your Input    Questions  ›  transfer old hard drive to new computer

 Pages: 1
Recommend Print
  Author    transfer old hard drive to new computer
Stuart
Posted: August 22nd, 2009, 3:03pm Report to Moderator
Guest User



I have a Sony Vaio desktop (PCV-RZ24G) which stopped booting. (nothing happens at all)  Can I move the hard drive to a new computer so that I just keep all the old programs without having to reinstall them on a new hard drive?  How will I know whether the hard drive is compatible with a new system?
Logged
e-mail
A New Bible Built with Modern Technology

New Testament - Breakthrough Version

www.breakthroughversion.com

The Breakthrough Version achieves a much higher level of accuracy. It is:

  • more literal
  • more precise
  • more contemporary
  • more correct
  • more consistent

This Bible even translates hundreds of forgotten Greek words that no other Bible does.

It is an essential tool for Bible teachers and students, yet it is easy to read, even for newbies.

Ray
Posted: August 24th, 2009, 11:25am Report to Moderator
Administrator Group



Posts: 2208
Reputation: 60.00%
   If that drive was the only drive on the first computer, you should be able to put it on the second computer and if it is the drive that the computer boots from, everything should be the same as it was on the first computer.  If the second computer has the same problem that the first computer had when it boots (or doesn't boot), the problem with your first computer was probably on the drive and not in the computer.
   If you put the drive on the second computer and it is an extra drive (not the boot drive), you will have to reinstall all of the programs in order to use them (unless they were already installed on the second computer).
   Unless the drive is a really, really old drive, it should be compatible.
Logged Offline
e-mail Reply: 1 - 2
onemaddude
Posted: August 31st, 2009, 12:24am Report to Moderator
Minimum Member



Posts: 75
Also, don't forget, if you have two hard drives on the second computer and you are installing the old hard drive as the second drive, you have to change the jumper to slave mode.

onemaddude
Logged Offline
e-mail YIM Reply: 2 - 2
 Pages: 1
Recommend Print

Locked Board Board Index    Questions  [ previous | next ] Switch to:

Thread Rating
There is currently no rating for this thread
 
Forum Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post polls
You may not post attachments
HTML is off
Blah Code is on
Smilies are on

Powered by E-Blah Platinum 9.6 © 2001-2006