I can't connect to the internet. March 17th, 2018, 4:48am
Home Calendar Search Register Login
Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.

Computer Q&A Board    Your Input    Questions  ›  I can't connect to the internet.

Pages: 1
Recommend Print
  Author    I can't connect to the internet.
Posted: April 6th, 2009, 2:20am Report to Moderator
Guest User

I am a computer repair tech and I occasionally have to take a clients computer home with me for diagnosis and repair. I was at a clients home and tried to connect to the internet by connecting my laptop to the clients broadband modem. I reset the modem and waited for my computer the gain an IP address but the connection stated that I had limited or no connectivity. I repaired the connection and received an APIPA (Automatically Provided Internet Protocol Address) of 169.254.*.*. I checked to make sure that I had the properties configured for the ethernet connection to receive IP address and DNS information automatically. I ended up having to take the clients PC home with me to work on it because I didn't have a way to research the problem at the clients home.