regvac and symantic July 19th, 2018, 7:53am
Home Calendar Search Register Login
Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.

Computer Q&A Board    Your Input    Questions  ›  regvac and symantic

 Pages: 1
Recommend Print
  Author    regvac and symantic
billrobb
Posted: February 21st, 2009, 1:02pm Report to Moderator
Medium Member


Posts: 161
I tried to run registry cleanup in regvac and turned off symantic firewall but got this message:  Cannot create c\windows\registry  and then access violation@004ACCD3 in module....... thanks,
Logged Offline
e-mail
A New Bible Built with Modern Technology

New Testament - Breakthrough Version

www.breakthroughversion.com

The Breakthrough Version achieves a much higher level of accuracy. It is:

  • more literal
  • more precise
  • more contemporary
  • more correct
  • more consistent

This Bible even translates hundreds of forgotten Greek words that no other Bible does.

It is an essential tool for Bible teachers and students, yet it is easy to read, even for newbies.

Ray
Posted: February 21st, 2009, 4:59pm Report to Moderator
Administrator Group



Posts: 2208
Reputation: 60.00%
I have not heard of any problems with RegVac and Symantic Firewall.  Is Symantic giving you that error or RegVac?
Logged Offline
e-mail Reply: 1 - 5
billrobb
Posted: March 2nd, 2009, 5:25pm Report to Moderator
Medium Member


Posts: 161
when I click reg pack it warns me to shut off any Symantec or Norton programs so I do that for one of the choices on my Symantec icon...5 minutes. (The suggestion on reg pack says look at Help to know how to do this...I couldn't find a help topic that seemed to apply) And it is then I get two messages one after another : Cant created file and then access violation.
Logged Offline
e-mail Reply: 2 - 5
Ray
Posted: March 3rd, 2009, 1:05pm Report to Moderator
Administrator Group



Posts: 2208
Reputation: 60.00%
   Disabling Symantec a different way than what the instructions say will not work.
   The instructions are in Help in two places: in the Registry Pack section and in the Registry Restore section.   Here is what it says:

Instructions for Disabling Norton
1. Go to Run on Window's Start menu.
2. Type msconfig and click on the OK button.
3. Go to the Startup tab of the System Configuration Utility.
4. Uncheck every item for Norton or Symantec.
5. Restart Windows and make sure that Norton does not start.
6. If Norton is not running in the background, it is safe to run Registry Pack or Registry Restore.
7. Later you can go back to msconfig and recheck the unchecked items.
Logged Offline
e-mail Reply: 3 - 5
billrobb
Posted: March 3rd, 2009, 8:24pm Report to Moderator
Medium Member


Posts: 161
When I go to the startup list symantic (I don't have Norton) does not appear. It does appear in the SERVICES menu under event manager, network proxy settings manager and password.
ALSO I AM NOT GETTING NOTIFICATION OF NEW REPLIES ALTHOUGH IT IS CHECKED.
This is only recently, but it applies to another post that was replied to aw wekl/
Logged Offline
e-mail Reply: 4 - 5
Ray
Posted: March 4th, 2009, 10:28am Report to Moderator
Administrator Group



Posts: 2208
Reputation: 60.00%
   If Registry Pack is allowing you to continue, RegVac has not detected Symantec.  That does not mean that Symantec is not running but it does mean that the usual problem that RegVac is warning about is not a problem in this case.
   My guess is that Symantec is causing those errors because it is blocking what Registry Pack is doing.  If disabling Symantec does not solve the problem, I don't know what will.
Logged Offline
e-mail Reply: 5 - 5
 Pages: 1
Recommend Print

Locked Board Board Index    Questions  [ previous | next ] Switch to:

Thread Rating
There is currently no rating for this thread
 
Forum Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post polls
You may not post attachments
HTML is off
Blah Code is on
Smilies are on

Powered by E-Blah Platinum 9.6 © 2001-2006