cpu hyperthreading handles overload January 16th, 2018, 3:00pm
Home Calendar Search Register Login
Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.

Computer Q&A Board    Your Input    Questions  ›  cpu hyperthreading handles overload

 Pages: 1
Recommend Print
  Author    cpu hyperthreading handles overload
Tedly
Posted: February 7th, 2009, 4:42pm Report to Moderator
Baby Member


Posts: 9
I upgraded my dell diminsion 3000 with a his 1550 video card
after that my boot up goes to f1 to continue or f2 to enter setup.
I have pressed f2 and it goes to the windows I enter password immediatly goes to desktop with all icons sorta there then hangs up for a loooooong time.
I have looked at the cpu usage and it is showing 8000 handles 29000 threads cpu precentage 0 with bursts of 40 percent.  after it finally boots I have stuttering performance and hangups.
What I have done is went thru bios settings run regvac virus scans  am at wits end (not a very long walk) any solution?
Logged Offline
e-mail
It is HERE
A Revolutionary New Bible Version

Gain a Better Understanding of the Bible

No Bible Training Needed
Just Read and Find out God's Message to You


New Testament - Breakthrough Version
Go to - www.breakthroughversion.com - for more information.
Free Weekly Newsletter
Learn Tips about your Computer
from a Trusted, Knowledgeable Source


Subscribe to Ray's Computer Tips by entering your email address below and clicking on the button. We have a No Spam policy


This Forum brought to you by



Great Software
Forever Free Updates
Ray
Posted: February 7th, 2009, 5:38pm Report to Moderator
Administrator Group



Posts: 2208
Reputation: 60.00%
Have you tried calling the video card company?  Maybe they know what is wrong.
Logged Offline
e-mail Reply: 1 - 4
Tedly
Posted: February 7th, 2009, 6:16pm Report to Moderator
Baby Member


Posts: 9
not by phone, I had this happen before, and reloaded bios and it fixed it then. tried that this time no luck, the task master shows a lot of activity, but no processes are using anything, make any sense of this?  Your regvac found and fixed some stuff but I have run it a dozen times and it keeps finding 115 or so empty register paths cleans 20.
Logged Offline
e-mail Reply: 2 - 4
dlwolff0
Posted: February 8th, 2009, 12:02am Report to Moderator
Big Member



Posts: 499
Reputation: 0.00%
Have you designated the new video card as the primary video for the computer?
See this page and click on entering system setup for information.
http://support.dell.com/support/edocs/systems/dim3000/en/SM/syssetup.htm#wp1054637
Logged Offline
e-mail Reply: 3 - 4
Snakeyes
Posted: February 8th, 2009, 1:03am Report to Moderator
Big Member


Posts: 245
Could be a video driver issue. Did you uninstall the previous video driver and then (Clean install) reinstall the appropriate  current driver for the new card ? [b][/b]
Logged Offline
e-mail Reply: 4 - 4
 Pages: 1
Recommend Print

Locked Board Board Index    Questions  [ previous | next ] Switch to:

Thread Rating
There is currently no rating for this thread
 
Forum Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post polls
You may not post attachments
HTML is off
Blah Code is on
Smilies are on

Powered by E-Blah Platinum 9.6 © 2001-2006