Speed Startup January 24th, 2018, 2:11am
Home Calendar Search Register Login
Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.

Computer Q&A Board    Your Input    Questions  ›  Speed Startup

 Pages: 1
Recommend Print
  Author    Speed Startup
rawana75
Posted: December 15th, 2008, 10:28am Report to Moderator
Minimum Member


Posts: 72
Hi, using the new version of Speed Startup I detected a new (?) feature. If you put some prozesses to manual start you get the possibility to start them by c:\programs\speed startup\run. Now if you get a new startup item you are warned by Speed Startup and the program is run again. But after this run the folder run is empty and you get a second folder named run2 containing all programs for manual starting. If this happens a second time all manually to be started programs are listed under the folder run and the folder run2 has disappeared. Why is that? This is somewhat irritating.
rawana75
Logged Offline
e-mail
A New Bible Built with Modern Technology

New Testament - Breakthrough Version

www.breakthroughversion.com

The Breakthrough Version achieves a much higher level of accuracy. It is:

  • more literal
  • more precise
  • more contemporary
  • more correct
  • more consistent

This Bible even translates hundreds of forgotten Greek words that no other Bible does.

It is an essential tool for Bible teachers and students, yet it is easy to read, even for newbies.

Ray
Posted: December 15th, 2008, 5:47pm Report to Moderator
Administrator Group



Posts: 2208
Reputation: 60.00%
Each time Speed Startup is run, if the Run folder exists, a Run2 folder is created, the Run folder is deleted, and the Run2 folder is renamed to Run.  This has to be done because Vista does not allow the Run folder to be deleted and then recreated (this is how Speed Startup did it before and Vista did not allow it, so now Speed Startup temporarily makes the Run2 folder to work around Vista).
Logged Offline
e-mail Reply: 1 - 5
rawana75
Posted: December 15th, 2008, 10:56pm Report to Moderator
Minimum Member


Posts: 72
But this is not how it functions with Windows XP Home. The run folder is not deleted and so the run2 folder cannot be renamed. The planned procedure is only functioning when run2 is existing. In this case the folder run is the new folder and run2 is deleted.
rawana75
Logged Offline
e-mail Reply: 2 - 5
Ray
Posted: December 19th, 2008, 2:33am Report to Moderator
Administrator Group



Posts: 2208
Reputation: 60.00%
   I am running Speed Startup in Windows XP and it works fine.  Maybe something on your computer is keeping Run from being deleted.
Logged Offline
e-mail Reply: 3 - 5
rawana75
Posted: December 19th, 2008, 2:57pm Report to Moderator
Minimum Member


Posts: 72
Maybe! There are a lot of things with Microsoft which will remain unresolved. rawana75
Logged Offline
e-mail Reply: 4 - 5
onemaddude
Posted: December 24th, 2008, 7:18am Report to Moderator
Minimum Member



Posts: 75
I think you just hit the answer to BOTH of your latest questions.

onemaddude
Logged Offline
e-mail YIM Reply: 5 - 5
 Pages: 1
Recommend Print

Locked Board Board Index    Questions  [ previous | next ] Switch to:

Thread Rating
There is currently no rating for this thread
 
Forum Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post polls
You may not post attachments
HTML is off
Blah Code is on
Smilies are on

Powered by E-Blah Platinum 9.6 © 2001-2006