Connecting wirelessly January 18th, 2018, 5:39pm
Home Calendar Search Register Login
Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.

Computer Q&A Board    Your Input    Questions  ›  Connecting wirelessly

 Pages: 1
Recommend Print
  Author    Connecting wirelessly
Starr123
Posted: December 1st, 2008, 12:50am Report to Moderator
Guest User



I just purchased my first computer, which is a laptop. I got a modem from my internet company and he connected it wired.  How do I go about connecting it wirelessly?  Your help will be appreciated.
Logged
e-mail
It is HERE
A Revolutionary New Bible Version

Gain a Better Understanding of the Bible

No Bible Training Needed
Just Read and Find out God's Message to You


New Testament - Breakthrough Version
Go to - www.breakthroughversion.com - for more information.
Free Weekly Newsletter
Learn Tips about your Computer
from a Trusted, Knowledgeable Source


Subscribe to Ray's Computer Tips by entering your email address below and clicking on the button. We have a No Spam policy


This Forum brought to you by



Great Software
Forever Free Updates
Snakeyes
Posted: December 1st, 2008, 11:24am Report to Moderator
Big Member


Posts: 245
You will need a wireless router and I am assuming that you have wireless card or built in capability on your laptop. Also I presume it is a high speed cable modem.
Check your laptops wireless for its capability- g or n speeds before buying a wireless router.
Please provide more info on existing setup for better assistance.
Logged Offline
e-mail Reply: 1 - 4
Starr123
Posted: December 2nd, 2008, 11:43pm Report to Moderator
Guest User



I have wireless capability on my laptop  and the modem is high speed.  Also, it is capable for g speeds. Thank you.
Logged
e-mail Reply: 2 - 4
Snakeyes
Posted: December 3rd, 2008, 12:49am Report to Moderator
Big Member


Posts: 245
I presume you have setup the wireless router including WEP while it was hardwired to your laptop. If you haven't post and we can walk you through the steps.
Disconnect the hard wire and open control panel and click on the Wireless Network Setup Wizard and it shoud walk you through the setup. If you have any issues note and post the specifics. make sure you remember the WEP password you used during the Router setup. Your router documentation/install CD should have the steps for setting up the router and protection.
Cheers
Logged Offline
e-mail Reply: 3 - 4
Starr123
Posted: December 8th, 2008, 12:43am Report to Moderator
Guest User



Thank you so much.  I set up the router hardwired to my laptop but when I disconnected the hard wire, I neglected going to Control Panel to run the network wizard.   This is what I missed. I should be fine now.  Thanks again and cheers to you.  
Logged
e-mail Reply: 4 - 4
 Pages: 1
Recommend Print

Locked Board Board Index    Questions  [ previous | next ] Switch to:

Thread Rating
There is currently no rating for this thread
 
Forum Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post polls
You may not post attachments
HTML is off
Blah Code is on
Smilies are on

Powered by E-Blah Platinum 9.6 © 2001-2006