installing two operating systems January 16th, 2018, 3:22pm
Home Calendar Search Register Login
Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.

Computer Q&A Board    Your Input    Questions  ›  installing two operating systems

 Pages: 1
Recommend Print
  Author    installing two operating systems
terrayusa
Posted: October 11th, 2008, 8:10pm Report to Moderator
Baby Member


Posts: 12
Ray, Will 2nd operating system work on slave hard drive? I am trying Vista again on new board & cpu on new 80 gig primary. My Xp Home is on another hard drive & will need to be re-authorised. I am putting this drive in as slave. Have been told that if I run XP on 2nd drive that it will cause possible problems. I would much rather run XP on the drive it is on rather than partition primary drive. I know I can read 2nd drive files & get everything off it as the reason for new board etc. is that the XP mother board got fried.
Thank you, Terry
Logged Offline
e-mail
It is HERE
A Revolutionary New Bible Version

Gain a Better Understanding of the Bible

No Bible Training Needed
Just Read and Find out God's Message to You


New Testament - Breakthrough Version
Go to - www.breakthroughversion.com - for more information.
Free Weekly Newsletter
Learn Tips about your Computer
from a Trusted, Knowledgeable Source


Subscribe to Ray's Computer Tips by entering your email address below and clicking on the button. We have a No Spam policy


This Forum brought to you by



Great Software
Forever Free Updates
Ray
Posted: October 13th, 2008, 4:57pm Report to Moderator
Administrator Group



Posts: 2208
Reputation: 60.00%
   I should make no difference whether it is on a slave or master drive.  If installed correctly, it will run correctly.
Logged Offline
e-mail Reply: 1 - 2
terrayusa
Posted: October 13th, 2008, 5:33pm Report to Moderator
Baby Member


Posts: 12
Thank you Ray
That's what I thought, was told by store that I'm buying latest tech version board from that it may cause problems. I  can reformat Vista primary if it doesn't work any better than it did last year, as they claim it now runs much better, & swap that drive to slave.
It will be same XP reinstalling on the same drive it was on, which was a new install on formated disk on that drive originally.
Thanks again, Terry
Logged Offline
e-mail Reply: 2 - 2
 Pages: 1
Recommend Print

Locked Board Board Index    Questions  [ previous | next ] Switch to:

Thread Rating
There is currently no rating for this thread
 
Forum Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post polls
You may not post attachments
HTML is off
Blah Code is on
Smilies are on

Powered by E-Blah Platinum 9.6 © 2001-2006