can't shut down September 26th, 2018, 1:31am
Home Calendar Search Register Login
Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.

Computer Q&A Board    Your Input    Questions  ›  can't shut down

 Pages: 1
Recommend Print
  Author    can't shut down
DEANJOH
Posted: October 6th, 2008, 1:15pm Report to Moderator
Guest User



I cannot shut my computer down unless I first delete cmd.exe from the window task manager.  any ideas??
Logged
e-mail
A New Bible Built with Modern Technology

New Testament - Breakthrough Version

www.breakthroughversion.com

The Breakthrough Version achieves a much higher level of accuracy. It is:

  • more literal
  • more precise
  • more contemporary
  • more correct
  • more consistent

This Bible even translates hundreds of forgotten Greek words that no other Bible does.

It is an essential tool for Bible teachers and students, yet it is easy to read, even for newbies.

Ray
Posted: October 7th, 2008, 12:27pm Report to Moderator
Administrator Group



Posts: 2208
Reputation: 60.00%
cmd.exe is not in my task manager.  It probably is being used to run a program.  You need to figure out how it is getting started.
Logged Offline
e-mail Reply: 1 - 7
DEANJOH
Posted: October 8th, 2008, 5:12pm Report to Moderator
Guest User



Any ideas on how it is getting started???
Logged
e-mail Reply: 2 - 7
Ray
Posted: October 9th, 2008, 10:42am Report to Moderator
Administrator Group



Posts: 2208
Reputation: 60.00%
   Look in startup.
   You can do that by either getting our program, Speed Startup (http://superwin.com/speedstartup.htm), and having it scan for startup items

   or

   type msconfig in Run and look in the Startup tab of System Configuration.
Logged Offline
e-mail Reply: 3 - 7
DEANJOH
Posted: October 9th, 2008, 5:25pm Report to Moderator
Guest User



Its not in startup.  Some times it is there and other times it appears???
Logged
e-mail Reply: 4 - 7
Ray
Posted: October 10th, 2008, 10:44am Report to Moderator
Administrator Group



Posts: 2208
Reputation: 60.00%
Something has to start it.  Maybe the browser starts it or some other program.
Logged Offline
e-mail Reply: 5 - 7
DEANJOH
Posted: October 13th, 2008, 5:27pm Report to Moderator
Guest User



Yes, It seems like some thing in the browser.  Any ideas how to pin it down and remove it??
Logged
e-mail Reply: 6 - 7
DEANJOH
Posted: October 14th, 2008, 10:39am Report to Moderator
Guest User



I removed some internet web based add ons that I did not need. and it took care of the problem.

Thanks for your help

Dean
Logged
e-mail Reply: 7 - 7
 Pages: 1
Recommend Print

Locked Board Board Index    Questions  [ previous | next ] Switch to:

Thread Rating
There is currently no rating for this thread
 
Forum Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post polls
You may not post attachments
HTML is off
Blah Code is on
Smilies are on

Powered by E-Blah Platinum 9.6 © 2001-2006