WinRescue Vista and Norton September 26th, 2018, 8:18am
Home Calendar Search Register Login
Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.

Computer Q&A Board    Your Input    Questions  ›  WinRescue Vista and Norton

 Pages: 1
Recommend Print
  Author    WinRescue Vista and Norton
charlieheard
Posted: September 4th, 2008, 12:55am Report to Moderator
Guest User



Trying to recover from an aborted installation, I used the Crash Fixer option. Up popped a message like this one:

Quoted Text
WinRescue has detected the presence of Norton or Symantec.  These will crash your computer if you proceed.
Please see Help for instructions on how to disable Norton and Symantec.

I viewed every page of the help (Vista doesn't allow me to search it ), but could find no help entry containing Norton. I also looked on the website, without any joy. In the end, I recovered using one of Windows restore points.

Please can you point me to the information on disabling Norton so that I can use the software in the future
Logged
e-mail
A New Bible Built with Modern Technology

New Testament - Breakthrough Version

www.breakthroughversion.com

The Breakthrough Version achieves a much higher level of accuracy. It is:

  • more literal
  • more precise
  • more contemporary
  • more correct
  • more consistent

This Bible even translates hundreds of forgotten Greek words that no other Bible does.

It is an essential tool for Bible teachers and students, yet it is easy to read, even for newbies.

Ray
Posted: September 4th, 2008, 10:36am Report to Moderator
Administrator Group



Posts: 2208
Reputation: 60.00%
   Somehow that did not get in WinRescue Vista's Help (a mental lapse or something).  It will be in the next version.  Here are the instructions.

Instructions for Disabling Norton
1. Go to Start - All Programs - Accessories - Run.  Click on Run.
2. Type msconfig and click on the OK button.
3. Go to the Startup tab of the System Configuration Utility.
4. Uncheck every item for Norton or Symantec (this means any item that has the word norton or symantec anywhere in its filepath shown in the Command column).
5. Restart Windows and make sure that Norton does not start.
6. If Norton is not running in the background, it is safe to run RegPack or Restore.
7. Later you can go back to msconfig and recheck the unchecked items.
Logged Offline
e-mail Reply: 1 - 2
charlieheard
Posted: September 5th, 2008, 10:42am Report to Moderator
Guest User



Great. Thanks for that.
Logged
e-mail Reply: 2 - 2
 Pages: 1
Recommend Print

Locked Board Board Index    Questions  [ previous | next ] Switch to:

Thread Rating
There is currently no rating for this thread
 
Forum Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post polls
You may not post attachments
HTML is off
Blah Code is on
Smilies are on

Powered by E-Blah Platinum 9.6 © 2001-2006