Replacing XP with 98SE January 21st, 2018, 4:29pm
Home Calendar Search Register Login
Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.

Computer Q&A Board    Your Input    Questions  ›  Replacing XP with 98SE

 Pages: 1
Recommend Print
  Author    Replacing XP with 98SE
plonkeroo
Posted: June 1st, 2008, 6:18pm Report to Moderator
Minimum Member


Hiya, Everyone!

Posts: 88
My Win98SE machine is held together with string and chewing gum but I'm very fond of it. Besides, all my programmes, usernames, and passwords are installed on it not to mention native DOS without which I could not do. My son is proposing to sell on his WinXP machine and is pressing me to accept XP instead of 98SE. But my idea is to get him to switch the hard disks around from one machine to the other, the object being to have 98SE running on the newer machine. And perhaps to use an ALL.REG to back up my present settings.

Do you foresee any serious problems with my plan?
Logged Offline
Site e-mail Windows Live Messenger
It is HERE
A Revolutionary New Bible Version

Gain a Better Understanding of the Bible

No Bible Training Needed
Just Read and Find out God's Message to You


New Testament - Breakthrough Version
Go to - www.breakthroughversion.com - for more information.
Free Weekly Newsletter
Learn Tips about your Computer
from a Trusted, Knowledgeable Source


Subscribe to Ray's Computer Tips by entering your email address below and clicking on the button. We have a No Spam policy


This Forum brought to you by



Great Software
Forever Free Updates
Ray
Posted: June 2nd, 2008, 8:37pm Report to Moderator
Administrator Group



Posts: 2208
Reputation: 60.00%
   I would suggest replacing the drives in the new computer with the old drives.  That may or may not work depending on what was on the old computer and what is on the new one.  I have done that successfully.
   If it does work, you can attach the other drives as extra drives.
Logged Offline
e-mail Reply: 1 - 3
Cenzo
Posted: June 10th, 2008, 1:21pm Report to Moderator
Baby Member


Posts: 15
Won't he have to install the new MB drivers? I have heard this is a very painfull process.
Logged Offline
e-mail Reply: 2 - 3
Ray
Posted: June 10th, 2008, 6:52pm Report to Moderator
Administrator Group



Posts: 2208
Reputation: 60.00%
   Hook the system drive up to the new computer so that it is in the system drive position.  If there are other drives, hook them up so that they have the same drive letter as on the old computer.  Start the computer.  If it works, it works and you just saved yourself a lot of work.  As I said, I have done this successfully before.
   If it does not work, turn off the computer and move to plan B which is installing Windows on one of the new drives and hooking the old drives up as additional drives and reinstalling all of your programs.  Unless your drives all have the same drive letter as the old computer and the programs are in the same place as they were on the old computer, an ALL.REG file will do you no good.
Logged Offline
e-mail Reply: 3 - 3
 Pages: 1
Recommend Print

Locked Board Board Index    Questions  [ previous | next ] Switch to:

Thread Rating
There is currently no rating for this thread
 
Forum Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post polls
You may not post attachments
HTML is off
Blah Code is on
Smilies are on

Powered by E-Blah Platinum 9.6 © 2001-2006